2016, Q4


International Piano


The outstanding work is the Sonata for Two Pianos (1947), a rare Bowles sortie into modernist severity, especially in the last movement’s implacably pounding rhythms. Kasparov reckons it is, “amongst the most challenging works ever composed for this medium.”

He and Lutsyshyn deliver it with admirable panache.

– Graham Lock

© International Piano



Pianists Andrey Kasparov and Oksana Lutsyshyn deliver technically adroit and stylistically sound performances that capture the full measure of Bowles’s musical imagination.

– Jed Distler

© Gramophone

Amazon Logo


You will find a selection of Invencia’s recordings available for purchase at Amazon.com.