The Teacher & His Two Students

23 April, 2018, 7:30PM, Old Dominion University

The Norfolk Chamber Consort, under the direction of Dr. Andrey Kasparov and Oksana Lutsyshyn, concludes its 49th season with reflections on the legacy of composer and pianist Anton Arensky (1861—1906), in a program entitled The Teacher & His Two Students. From Arensky’s Moscow studio there would arise the great talents of Alexander Scriabin and Sergei Rachmaninoff. As Invencia Piano Duo, in selections for duo and solo piano, Kasparov and Lutsyshyn will demonstrate their virtuosity through the music of all three artists.

Karl Tavaststjerna, Portrait of Anton Arensky (1901)

The concert begins with Arensky’s lyrical Four Pieces for Cello and Piano, Op. 56. Inspired by the exoticism of Asian musical motifs, the cycle opens with Orientale. Cellist Jeffrey Phelps joins pianist Oksana Lutsyshyn on this work.

The evening continues with Alexander Scriabin’s Piano Sonata No. 2, one of his best-known works. Oksana Lutsyshyn will perform this celebrated composition with her own lighting design — Scriabin was a strong proponent of synesthesia and a pioneer of multimedia.

The first portion of the recital will conclude with Invencia Piano Duo’s rendition of Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Suite No. 2 for two pianos. Written in Italy in 1901, the work signaled the composer’s first return to creativity after a prolonged four-year period of silence and depression.

Stanislav Zhukovsky, Sunny Day

The second half will open with Andrey Kasparov’s rendition of Four Piano Pieces, Op. 25, by Arensky. This Romantic cycle – the exact year of its composition unknown – reveals an eclectic approach wherein various European trends are combined with a Chinese theme in the Etude and unusual meters in the Scherzino. Some of the composition’s texture and harmony foreshadow the style of Scriabin.

The program continues with selections of lieder by Rachmaninoff written at various stages of his career: from the poignant “Lilacs” to the symbolic “Daisies.” Accompanied by Andrey Kasparov, Tenor Brian Nedvin of Old Dominion University is the featured vocalist for this portion of the program.

The concert will conclude with the world premiere of Andrey Kasparov’s piano duo arrangement of Vers la flamme (“Toward the flame”), one of Scriabin’s last works, originally composed for solo piano. The title symbolizes a gradual accumulation of heat and intensity that eventually blossoms forth in a cataclysmic blaze. Rendered expertly by Invencia Piano Duo, this masterwork by Alexander Scriabin will be presented with an original lighting projection designed by Kasparov and Lutsyshyn.

The concert begins at 7:30PM at ODU’s Chandler Recital Hall, with a pre-concert discussion by Dr. Kasparov from 7:15PM.11168153_761115160667805_825347124670488533_n

A catered reception follows the performance, with food provided by The Green Onion restaurant of Norfolk’s historic Ghent.

Tickets at the door $25.00, Students $10.00.

E-mail for further details.

Click here for the Norfolk Chamber Consort’s 2017-2018 performance schedule.

© Invencia Piano Duo, Old Dominion University & Norfolk Chamber Consort

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s