November, 2019: Traversing the Americas


11 November, 2019, 7:30PM, Old Dominion University

Traversing the Americas

Frederic Remington, Against the Sunset (1906)

Hosted by the Norfolk Chamber Consort, Invencia Piano Duo, comprised of Andrey Kasparov and Oksana Lutsyshyn, will appear at Old Dominion University’s Chandler Recital Hall in a program of Pan-American keyboard works resplendent with the colors and cultures of countries stretching from the northern climes of Canada to the southernmost islands of Tiera del Fuego.

The evening will open with Alberto Ginastera’s Cinco Canciones Populares Argentinas (1943). The program will continue with music of Heitor Villa-Lobos and Manuel Ponce, including the latter’s Suite Cubana (1916).

With additional works for piano duet from Louis Moreau Gottschalk, the evening will conclude with the Virginia premiere of the Small Suite from 1939 by Paul Bowles, heretofore unknown to Invencia Piano Duo.

Invencia’s recordings of the otherwise complete works for piano of Paul Bowles were released in two volumes by the American Classics division of Naxos Records in 2016.

The program will begin at 7:30PM, with a pre-concert discussion by Dr. Kasparov from 7:15PM.

A catered reception follows the performance, with food provided by friends of the Norfolk Chamber Consort.

Tickets at the door $25.00, Students $10.00.

E-mail for further details.

Click here for the Norfolk Chamber Consort’s 2019-2020 performance schedule.

Click here for the complete 2019-2020 F. Ludwig Diehn Concert Series schedule of events.

© Old Dominion University, Norfolk Chamber Consort, Invencia Piano Duo